I shot it at 28mm at f/22 on a Sony a7C. You can also tape the focus ring to prevent this from happening. Thats my key. On the other hand, companies like the United Launch Alliance will sometimes post a flight path map showing when and where you can see the rocket in flight and can be found posted on most of their social network accounts. If one gets the opportunity to attend a rocket launch, make sure to take advantage of every aspect. To make sure the lens wont move and shift focus, some even go into the trouble of taping the lens over the eyepiece to prevent possible movement. . My name is Tom Cross and I'm a credentialed rocket launch photographer for Teslarati at the Kennedy Space Center in Florida. The rockets put out a great amount of light, so even if your lowest F-stop is F8, you should still be able to let in enough light for decent photos. Then minutes before lift off, an unexpected issue will scrub the launch, only to attempt to try again the following night. October 19, 2021 Bob Gibson Photography Workshops. In truth, you can absolutely pick up whatever camera you have, hit the auto-settings option, and take a perfectly fine photo of a rocket launch. The tech, sweat, and anxiety that goes into shooting a rocket launch Getting the shot: The light streak - Tampa Bay Times After a few launches, my biggest gripe about the triggers was a built in delay/buffer that they programmed into the triggers. I certainly prefer the new look of the MIOPS smart NT and the build quality went up a notch or two as well when compared to the old NERO trigger. And that being true of any launch, what a reliableasset to have pull the trigger on acamera! Space News space history and artifacts articles Messages space history discussion forums The Falcon Heavy launch was extra enticing to me since the vehicle boasts 27 engines, meaning I could get a whole lot of fire in my shot. Do not use filters for telephoto images, they may cause ghosting and lens flare. In the winter the launc